The remains of a Clava type cairn, consisting of 2 fallen, and 3 standing stones. Part of a group with Lagmore West and Marionburgh.
The two flankers are all that remain of this RSC. The 8 foot long recumbent having vanished in the 60’s. The stones are 1.9 and 1.2m high. Two cupmarks may be seen at the base of the west stone.
As of RCAHMS 1968, only one stone, 6’7” stood, out of five, the remainder laying where they have fallen.
The Cummers Stone is the sole remainder of the stone circle which once stood on this site. It is around 1.5m tall, and there are numerous other stones nearby which may or may not be related to the circle.
This site is distinct from Clatt Hillhead and Clatt Bankhead. The remains of an RSC, namely a recumbent and a stone also used as a gatepost formerly existed on this site. They were removed to Bankhead Steading in 1981.
Two 1m stones stand in the farmyard, and are thought to be the remains of a circle. A third stone was removed by the farmer in the past.
A single standing stone is all that remains of this Clava style cairn.
The remains of 3 structures lie on this hill: thought to be Stone Circles, enclosures or cairns, no decisive archaeology has yet been carried out.
Coles reports this large ‘puddingstone’ slab as the recumbent of an otherwise destroyed circle. RCAHMS prefer it to be the remains of a cairn.
Two stones, over a metre tall each, remain standing of a possible twelve. Numerous stones are laying flat.
I know I could have posted this site under the alternative name of Mains of Artloch, but frankly, the chance was too good to miss.
A cairn some 11m in diameter, with 4 large kerbstones up to 1m in height. Go see.
Four stones remain, overgrown in a boggy area. Others are laying within the circle.
RCAHMS reports two standing stones, one preventing the other from falling. The leaning stone is 4.5m high. Also on the hill is the Grey Stane of Corticram and reports of a long vanished circle.
RCAHMS describe this standing stone as the last of five that once formed this circle. It stands 1.4m high.
On some open land in Friarsfield Road stands the site of this circle. Approx 6 stones still remain on the site, but RCAHMS are of the opinion that they are definitely not in-situ, and may not even have belonged to the circle.
“This circle was comparatively complete
until about forty years ago. The recumbent stone remains in position,
but was shattered several years since by the kindling on it of a
Halloween fire. One of its side stones remains erect. The other is
thrown down; while beyond it, or two spaces or distances, a stone is standing in position, having been spared, as forming a handy rubbing
stone for cattle. One large stone had been removed, and laid length-
wise to form a good portion of a stone fence; another had been long since taken ’ to be used as a bridge across a small burn; another had been
utilised for the keystone of a thrashing mill support. The form of this
enclosure seems to have been an oblong. From being able to identify
the exact spot, through one who had assisted at the removal of one of
the absent stones, sufficient data were obtained to realise the form and
size of the circle. The size of the single stone is considerably in excess
of the average, and when complete and standing in the skyline, the
circle must have formed an imposing object. So far as could be ascer-
tained this circle would appear to have been an exact counterpart of the
next to be noticed, situated about a mile east, viz Loudon Wood ”
From the Proceedings of the Society of Scottish Antiquaries June 1885.
“This circle was prettycomplete about forty years since. The recumbent stone was a prominent object in the field until sixteen years ago, when it was shattered by gunpowder by thoughtless young apprentice masons working in the neighbourhood. A single stone now only remains, spared, as in a former case, to be desecrated as a rubbing stone for cattle. ”
From the Proceedings of The Society of Scottish Antiquaries June 1885.
Burl describes a line of 4 ring cairns, the outer two of which have stone circles. He rates them as ruined, but recognisable.
Burl describes this as a wrecked Clava Cairn. Three stones remain standing, ranging from 4.5 to 8 feet tall.
The third circle in this group (along with New Craig )was rumoured to have stood near Daviot Church. According to Burl it was demolished in the 1800’s to make way for a house......
A single stone some 5 feet high stands in the garden of a house named ‘Jeldah’. May be the remains of a circle.