The Modern Antiquarian. Stone Circles, Ancient Sites, Neolithic Monuments, Ancient Monuments, Prehistoric Sites, Megalithic MysteriesThe Modern Antiquarian

Head To Head   The Modern Antiquarian   Stonehenge and its Environs Forum Start a topic | Search
Stonehenge and its Environs
Re: A303 to go into a tunnel eventually?
88 messages
Select a forum:
Mustard wrote:
It seems like we'd all like to see less traffic on the roads. There's been some healthy, polite and respectful dialogue about whether and how we can achieve that.

Hitchhiking is probably a bit of a taboo activity now but I wonder if it wouldn’t suit some of us. As a student I hitchhiked from Wiltshire to London on a regular basis. Up as far as Durham once, and to Devon and Cornwall every year for several years (where I had a summer job). Never ever had a problem but did meet some generous drivers along the way who’d treat me to a meal or a cup of tea at roadside cafes, or sometimes go out of their way to take me a little closer to my destination. One guy even bought one of my paintings (come to think of it it was the only painting I ever sold :-)