The Modern Antiquarian. Stone Circles, Ancient Sites, Neolithic Monuments, Ancient Monuments, Prehistoric Sites, Megalithic MysteriesThe Modern Antiquarian

Head To Head   U-Know! Start a topic | Search
U-Know!
Mental Health Funding - Did I just see a flying pig?
16 messages
Select a forum:
The UK government announced today to 'transform mental health services in England with extra £1bn a year'. I'll believe it when I see it. Since when has this government actually tried to help genuine people in need? I'm sceptical if this 'pledge' will ever see the light of day, or if it does it is merely making up in a very small part for years of underfunding and neglect in mental health services. And what will Jeremy Hunt (one of the most loathed and mis-trusted politicians in the country at the moment) expect for such a 'generous investment'? Fucking miracles? As a mental health nurse I haven't had a pay rise in 5 years and our workload is as ever on the rise. Social workers are hard to find these days and also over-worked, and just to cap it all, Hunt has recently pissed off most of the entire medical profession. Marvellous! I'm surprised that The Guardian even gave Jeremy Hunt the time of day, never mind a full interview. I hope things do change, but I don't trust this lot with the biggest barge pole known to man.

http://www.theguardian.com/soc[...]services-with-extra-1bn-a-year

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-35565216

Here is the report.

'A report from the independent Mental Health Taskforce to the NHS in England
February 2016'.

All 82 pages of it.

https://www.england.nhs.uk/wp-[...]ealth-Taskforce-FYFV-final.pdf

Summary.

It takes a while to read and digest the whole report. Hence, the ethos.